Beauraing

GPS Coordinates 50.1130°N 5.0093°E

N (330°-30°)
Usage Hang Gliding / Paragliding
Flight Type Vols thermodynamiques (site classique)
Opening dates 01 January - 31 December
Height take off 260 m
Height difference 100 m

Général

This site is made available by the Belgian free flight association, who owns the start and obtained the landing areas. Support the actions of the BELGIAN FREE FLIGHT ASSOCIATION by becoming a member, so that this site can survive and other sites can be opened.

Thanks to: Mr. Benoit Baudoin of Martouzin, Mr. and Ms. Lissoir of Mahoux, Mr. and Ms. Botton-Lissoir of Martouzin, Mr. Jean Minet of Falmagne, Mr. Alaime-Wautelet of Martouzin, Mr. Pusturino of Charleroi,  Mr. and Ms. Bar-Tshoffen of Brussels, the municipality of Beauraing and all inhabitants of Martouzin-Neuville.

Use : Hang gliding – Paragliding (not motorized)

Open: All the year except on hunting days (see http://www.bvvf.be or signs at the entrance of the forest).

Type of flights : Soaring, thermals flights (starting point for overland flights).

 

Rules

THIS SITE IS RESERVED FOR MEMBERS OF THE BELGIAN FREE FLIGHT ASSOCIATION (OR OF A FOREIGN ASSOCIATION MEMBER OF THE EHPU), WHICH ARE HOLDERS OF A HANG GLIDER OR PARAGLIDER PILOT LICENSE AND ARE INSURED FOR THEIR CIVIL LIABILITY WHILST PRACTICING HANG GLIDING OR PARAGIDING.

It is forbidden to fly over the electrified railway line at a low altitude ! Mortal danger !

Prepare the gliders on the road behind the start and don't obstruct the start.

 

Access and parking:

Park your car behind the start, either on the road from the cemetery of Pondrôme, either on the dirt road on the edge of the forest, just before the forest road that leads to the start (demarcated parking), or on the few places at the beginning of this forest road (it is forbidden to park or drive further in the forest, except to unload hang gliders). Leave a passage of at least 4 m wide for the emergency services or agricultural vehicles. At the express demand of the local residents and of the municipality of Beauraing, it is forbidden to park at the foot of the site or in the village of MARTOUZIN-NEUVILLE. If this rule is not observed, the municipality will close the site!

During your flight:

Respect scrupulously the priority rules (paraglider = hang glider !) and maintain, depending on the flight conditions, sufficient distance from the slope and the other pilots. Don't fly "on the spot" and let the others turn in thermals. Respect the quietness of the forest and of the local residents and do not shout !

 

Return to the start (by foot):

Follow the road at the foot of the site to the East to a path that runs diagonally back to the start. Do not use the first small private road that is perpendicular to the main road, which is a dead end. Possibly take the road that runs along the train station to go back to the car park between the Chapel and the cemetery.

 

Airspace

This site is located (75 m) below the airspace zones HTA04 (Helicopter Training Area) and LFA04 (Low Flying Area).
This last can be used by fighter aircraft at low altitude (during the week, from the 1 st of september until the 31 th of May): check the NOTAMS!

On working days the maximum altitude for VFR operations in Belgium is usually limited to 1370m/AMSL (4500 ft AMSL)!

Take off

Just after the start is REQUIRED to turn to the right (to the East). The start can be very turbulent and a flight incident above the electrified railway line could be disastrous, both for the pilot and the site.

Respect the quietness of the forest and the local residents and do not shout !

Landing

TOP LANDING

The municipality ask with insistence, to limit the hindrances in the village, to land as much as possible on the landing fields on the plateau behind the start. These are located close to the parking between the Chapel and the cemetery. See map and photo.

MAIN LANDING:

The field on the right side in front of the start, on the other side of the road. Please note that this area drops noticeably on the 3/4 of its length (250 m) and there is an electricity line alongside the road. Make sure that the weather conditions allow you to fly over this line before you start or when you leave the slope to fly to the landing field, especially in stronger winds.

STRICTLY FORBIDDEN TO OVERFLY THE HOUSES DURING APPROACH AND TO DO A «S-APPROACH» ABOVE THE ROAD AND THE ELECTRICITY LINE, OBLIGATION TO LAND IN THE SECOND PART OF THE FIELD (also safer with Easterly winds because no turbulence from the tree line). If one has to, accidentally, fly over the properties, one must do this above the gardens and not above the houses). If this rule is not observed, the municipality will close the site!

Evacuate the landing field as fast as possible and fold on the edge of the road. Ground handling exercises or picnics are forbidden on the landing field. Respect the rest of the residents, don't be noisy!

Required lift-to-drag ratio: 5.

HELPER LANDING

The meadow in front of the start, but on the other side of the road. This field should only be used when it is really necessary and when the crops are not yet not ripe (yellow), even when there is wheat. The house that is located between the road and landing field is not to overfly. Do not land in the meadow left of this field. This landing field is made available to us by Mr. Paul Lissoir, which only asks to fold our wings on the concrete road or elsewhere outside the meadow.

Lift-to-drag ratio required: 5

Access & Parking: one must ABSOLUTELY leave the helper landing via the small concrete road that ends in the meadow and not through the garden of the house at the beginning of the field. Do not drive your car on the concrete road except for loading hang gliders. In the latter case one should not drive the car in the meadow and thus drive in reverse to leave the road.
No parking on the concrete road or in the village!

 

EMERGENCY PARAGLIDER LANDING

The meadow at the foot of the slope just below the start, before the road. The owner has formally forbidden us to use this meadow as an official landing, it is therefore absolutely necessary to make sure before starting that the weather conditions are good enough so that one does not has to land in this meadow (too much or too little wind).
Please note the electricity line along the road, because the meadow runs down to the road and the dynamic lift can make your landing significantly longer that foreseen.

If you still need to make an emergency landing, then leave the meadow as quickly as possible and fold your screen on the main landing field.

 

Dangers

Beauraing

Coordonnées GPS 50.1130°N 5.0093°E

N (330°-30°)
Pratiques Hang Gliding / Paragliding
Type de vols Vols thermodynamiques (site classique)
Dates d'ouverture 01 January - 31 December
Altitude déco 260 m
Dénivelé 100 m

Général

Ce site est mis à votre disposition par la Fédération Belge de Vol Libre asbl, qui est propriétaire de l’aire de décollage et qui a obtenu les autorisations pour les terrains d’atterrissages. Merci de soutenir l’action de la FBVL en y adhérant afin que ces sites puissent continuer à exister et que d’autres puissent s’ouvrir.

Remerciements à: M. Benoit Baudoin de Martouzin, M. et Mme. Lissoir de Mahoux, M. et Mme. Botton-Lissoir de Martouzin, M. Jean Minet de Falmagne, M. et Mme. Alaime-Wautelet de Martouzin, M. Pusturino de Charleroi, M. et Mme. Bar-Tshoffen de Bruxelles, la commune de Beauraing et tous les habitants de Martouzin-Neuville.

Utilisation: Deltaplane – Parapente (non motorisé)
Ouvert: Toute l’année hormis dates de chasse (voir www.fbvl.be ou panneaux à l’entrée du bois).

Type de vol: Soaring, vol thermique (point de départ pour cross)

Règlement

CE SITE EST RESERVE AUX MEMBRES DE LA FBVL OU D’UNE FEDERATION ETRANGERE MEMBRE DE L’EHPU, DETENTEURS DU BREVET DE PILOTE DE DELTA OU DE PARAPENTE ET ASSURES EN RESPONSABILITE CIVILE POUR LA PRATIQUE DU VOL LIBRE.

Préparez les ailes et voiles sur le chemin derrière le site, n’encombrez pas l’aire de décollage.
Il est INTERDIT de survoler le chemin de fer électrifié à basse altitude ! Danger de mort !

Accès et parking:

Garez vos voitures derrière le décollage, soit sur la route du cimetière de Pondrôme, soit le long du chemin de terre qui longe le bois juste avant d’entrer dans le bois (parking balisé) ou encore sur les quelques places au début du chemin qui rentre dans le bois (il est interdit de se garer plus loin dans le bois) et qui peut être utilisé pour décharger les ailes delta (voir plan). Laissez un passage de minimum 4 m de large pour les services de secours et les machines agricoles. A la demande expresse des riverains et de la commune de Beauraing, INTERDICTION DE SE GARER AU PIED DU SITE OU DANS LES VILLAGES DE MARTOUZIN-NEUVILLE. Si cette règle n’est pas respectée la commune fermera le site !

En vol

Respectez rigoureusement les règles de priorité (parapente = delta !) et adaptez votre distance par rapport à la pente et aux autres pilotes en fonction des conditions de vol. Ne volez pas “sur place” et laissez les autres enrouler le thermique. Respectez la quiétude de la forêt et des riverains et ne criez pas.

Retour à pied au décollage

Longez la route au pied du site vers l’Est jusqu’au sentier qui monte en biais directement au décollage. Ne pas emprunter le premier petit chemin privé qui monte perpendiculairement par rapport à la route, il mène nulle part. Eventuellement emprunter le chemin qui passe par la gare pour retrouver le parking entre la chapelle et le cimetière.

Espace aérien

Le site se trouve 75m en-dessous des zones HTA04 (Helicopter Training Area) et LFA04 (Low Flying Area). Cette dernière peut être utilisée par des avions de chasse à basse altitude (en semaine, entre le 1 septembre et le 31 mai): consultez les NOTAM sur le site de Belgocontrol (lien sur www.fbvl.be) ! Les jours ouvrables, le vol à vue en Belgique est généralement limité à 1370 m/mer (4500 ft AMSL).

Décollage

Le départ à droite (vers l’est) est OBLIGATOIRE lors du décollage car l’endroit peut être très turbulent et un incident de vol au-dessus de la ligne électrique pourrait avoir des conséquences catastrophiques tant pour le pilote que pour le site. Respectez la quiétude de la forêt et des riverains et ne criez pas.

Atterrissage

ATTERRISSAGE AU SOMMET:

La commune demande avec insistance, pour limiter les nuisances dans le village, d’aller atterrir le plus que possible sur les terrains prévus pour sur le plateau derrière le site. Les terrains prévus se situent juste à côté du parking entre la chapelle et le cimetière. Voir plan et photo.

ATTERRISSAGE PRINCIPAL:

Terrain se situant à droite devant le décollage, de l’autre côté de la route (terrain à droite sur le plan). Remarquez que le terrain descend notablement jusqu’à 3/4 de sa longueur (250 m) et qu’il y a une ligne électrique le long de la route. Assurez-vous de pouvoir traverser cette ligne AVANT le décollage ou au moment où vous partez de la crête vers le terrain d’atterrissage, surtout par vent plus fort.

INTERDICTION FORMELLE DE SURVOLER LES MAISONS LORS DE L’APPROCHE ET DE FAIRE DES « S » AU-DESSUS DE LA ROUTE ET LA LIGNE ÉLECTRIQUE, OBLIGATION D’ATTERRIR DANS LA DEUXIÈME MOITIÉ DU TERRAIN (aussi plus sain par vent de tendance Est car pas dans les rouleaux du rideau de sapins). Si survol il y a il doit se faire via les jardins plutôt que via les habitationsSi cette règle n’est pas respectée la commune fermera le site !
Dégagez le terrain au plus vite et repliez en bord de route. Interdiction de faire des gonflages ou piques niques sur ce terrain. Respectez la quiétude des riverains et évitez d’être bruyants.

Finesse nécessaire: 5

ATTERRISSAGE AUXILIAIRE

La prairie en avant du décollage, de l’autre coté de la route. Ce terrain peut être utilisé en cas de nécessité tant que les cultures ne sont pas mûres (jaunes), même s’il s’agit de blé. Ne survolez pas la maison qui se trouve en début de ce terrain et n’atterrissez pas dans la pâture à gauche de ce terrain. Cet atterrissage nous est mis gracieusement à notre disposition par M. Paul Lissoir, qui demande juste de replier sur le chemin en béton ou ailleurs en dehors du champ. Finesse nécessaire: 5.

Accès & parking: il faut IMPERATIVEMENT quitter l’atterro auxiliaire par le petit chemin en béton qui se termine dans le champ même et ne pas traverser le jardin de la maison en début du terrain. Ne roulez pas en voiture sur le chemin, sauf pour charger des deltas. Dans ce cas, ne roulez pas dans le champ, donc il faudra reculer en marche arrière pour sortir du chemin. Ne pas se garer sur le chemin ou dans le village !

ATTERRISSAGE DE SECOURS PARAPENTE

La prairie en contrebas du décollage à gauche, avant la route. Le propriétaire, M. Minet, nous a formellement INTERDIT d’utiliser ce terrain comme terrain d’atterrissage officiel, il est donc IMPERATIF de s’assurer que les conditions permettent de ne pas devoir atterrir dans cette prairie AVANT le décollage (trop ou trop peu de vent). Attention à la ligne d’électricité qui bord la route, car le terrain descend vers la route et les ascendances dynamiques peuvent rendre l’atterro plus long que prévu.

Si vous devez quand-même y faire un atterrissage de secours parce que vous ne savez pas passer la ligne d’électricité à hauteur suffisante, quittez-le champ au plus vite et repliez sur l’atterrissage principal.

Dangers