7 Meuses

GPS Coordinates 50.354166667°N 4.86083333°E

S (135°-225°)
Usage Hang Gliding / Paragliding
Flight Type Vols thermodynamiques (site classique)
Opening dates 16 March - 16 March
Height take off 250 m
Height difference 165 m

Général

Décollage = start  –  Attero = landing  –  Bouée de sauvetage = life buoy

Rules

This site is reserved to the members of the BVVF-FBVL or equivalent foreign federations, holders of a pilot license and insured for their legal liability for hang gliding or paragliding.

Tandem flights are prohibited unless written consent of the BVVF-FBVL.

Landing in the launch area is permitted only when it is cleared. Take-offs have PRIORITY at all times on the launch area, as its name implies. A pilot wishing to land should immediately stop its approach if another pilot prepares for a take-off. The take-off area is the entire area that is located in front of the trees.

When there are more than 10 gliders in flight, a mandatory circuit with left turns must be respected close to the slope and the antenna.

Strictly following the rules of priority (paraglider = hang glider !) and adjust your distance with regard to the slope, the antenna and the other pilots depending on the flight conditions. Do not fly "on the spot" and let the other pilots turn in the thermals.

Airspace

This site is located underneath the military TMA of Florennes (from 2500 ft/750 m AMSL), which is active every workday but which can also become active anytime on weekends and holidays. Therefore check the NOTAM’s on the FBVL-website or the Belgocontrol-website. During activation of the TMA, it is forbidden to climb higher than 500 m above the take-off. When the military base is in "stand-by" access to the TMA is allowed only by maintaining a listening watch of Brussels FIC radiofrequency (126,900 MHz).

Less than 4 km to the North, beware of the TMA de Charleroi that is always ACTIVE (from 2500 ft/750 m AMSL West of the river Meuse and from 3500 ft/1050 m AMSL East of the Meuse). Note that 17,5 km NNW of take-off (no CTR), the TMA even descends to 2200 ft/660 m AMSL. One may NEVER penetrate the TMA, and to avoid this one must sidetrack to the East up to the junction between the E411 and N4, staying on the South side of the forest North of Maillen (and of the ultralight-field), which is only possible during weekends and holidays or/and when the TMA Beauvechain 4 (2500-4500 ft AMSL), which begins at this point, is not activated.

Take off

Altitude: 250 m AMSL.

Locality: Viewpoint of the 7-Meuses, Rue du Sart à Soilles, Rivière.

Access & Parking: Leave your vehicle south of the road or at the restaurant (not in front of the houses), drive slowly (children) and respect nature (throw your garbage in the trashcan or take it back home).

Respect the environment and the residents. Drive calmly !

Landing

“Towpath” landing field

Between the Meuse and the 4-lane road, on the right hand side seen from the take-off (field in green on the map). Very small landing with risk of STRONG TURBULENCE. Visiting the landing is IMPERATIVE before flying on this site. The approach is done above the river Meuse, but be careful for downwind. At the same time one must be very wary for changing wind directions on this field.

Altitude : 85 m

Glide ratio: 4

Access and parking: Along the 4-lane road at the foot of the site (see map). Do not park your car along the road on the side of the landing field, on the towpath or the path that leads to the neighbors. There is a parking lot across the road.

“Camping” landing field

The big meadow in front of the take-off, between the campsite and the 2-lane road. It is forbidden to fly over the campsite at a low altitude. Pay attention to the roadside lighting poles.

Paragliding: when the wind is getting stronger, it may be impossible to reach this field, head then to the "towpath" landing field.

Altitude : 85 m

Finesse: 6

Access and parking: at Godinne, cross the river and take the overpass to the right, on top of the viaduct go right.

Dangers

LANDING "camping" (hang gliders and paragliders):
Along the road in the village there is an electricity line that is visible from far, but 1m50 above it lies a deadly semi-high voltage line that is practically invisible.

HANG GLIDING: Simple surfaces: watch out ! The landing area is quite far from the take-off, especially with a sustained South wind. In this case, one must first gain altitude before heading to the landing. If during your first passage in front of the hill you don't gain height, head immediately to the landing field.

PARAGLIDING: Turbulent site by Westerly winds. Pay attention to the strengthening of the wind: don't let yourself drift behind the hill (lee-side turbulence and no emergency landing). DELICATE LANDING FIELD ALONGSIDE THE MEUSE! (See landings chapter: Towpath).

ATTENTION: In the event of flooding of the Meuse, it is strongly discouraged to use the “towpath” landing field. The strong current of water represent under these conditions a mortal danger.

7 Meuses

Coordonnées GPS 50.354166667°N 4.86083333°E

S (135°-225°)
Pratiques Hang Gliding / Paragliding
Type de vols Vols thermodynamiques (site classique)
Dates d'ouverture 16 March - 16 March
Altitude déco 250 m
Dénivelé 165 m

Général

Règlement

Ce site est réservé aux membres de la FBVL ou d’une fédération étrangère équivalente, détenteurs du brevet de pilote de vol libre et assurés en responsabilité civile pour la pratique du vol libre.

Les vols biplaces sont interdits sauf dérogation écrite de la FBVL.

L'atterrissage dans la zone de décollage n'est autorisé que lorsque celle-ci est suffisamment dégagée. Elle reste en tout temps, comme son appellation l'indique, PRIORITAIREMENT dédiée au DECOLLAGE. Un pilote souhaitant s'y poser devra donc cesser immédiatement son approche si un autre pilote se présente pour décoller. La zone de décollage est toute la zone qui se situe devant les arbres. .

Lorsqu’il y a plus de 10 ailes en vol, un circuit de vol avec virages à gauche doit obligatoirement être respecté près de la pente et de l’antenne.

Respectez rigoureusement les règles de priorité (parapente = delta !) et adaptez votre distance par rapport à la pente, à l’antenne et aux autres pilotes en fonction des conditions de vol. Ne volez pas “sur place” et laissez les autres enrouler le thermique.

 

Espace aérien

Ce site se trouve en-dessous de la TMA militaire de Florennes (à partir de 2500 ft/ 750m AMSL), qui est active tous les jours ouvrables mais qui peut également devenir active à tout moment le week-end et les jours fériés. Pour cela, consulter les NOTAM sur le site internet de la FBVL ou de Belgocontrol. Pendant l’activation de la TMA, il est interdit de monter plus de 500 m au-dessus du décollage. Quand la base est en “stand-by” l’accès à la TMA n’est autorisé qu’en restant à l’écoute radio de Brussels FIC 126.900 Mhz.

À moins de 4 km vers le nord, attention à la TMA de Charleroi TOUJOURS ACTIVE (à partir de 2500 ft/ 750m AMSL à l’ouest de la Meuse et à partir de 3500 ft/1050 m AMSL à l’Est de la Meuse). Notez qu’à 17,5 km au NNO du décollage (hors CTR), la TMA descend même jusqu’à 2200 ft/660m AMSL. On ne peut JAMAIS pénétrer ces TMA, et pour les éviter, il faut remonter vers l’Est jusqu’à à hauteur de l’échangeur E411 et N4 en restant sur le côté sud de la forêt au Nord (de l’Ulmodrome) de Maillen, ce qui est uniquement possible le WE et les jours fériés ou quand la TMA 4 de Beauvechain, qui commence à ce point, n’est pas activée (2500 – 4500 ft AMSL).

Décollage

Altitude: 250 m AMSL.

Localité: « Point de vue des 7-Meuses », Rue du Sart à Soilles, Rivière.

Accès & Parking: Laissez votre véhicule côté Sud du chemin ou au restaurant (pas devant les maisons), roulez lentement (enfants) et respectez la nature (jetez vos déchets dans les poubelles ou emportez-les).

Respectez l'environnement et les habitants. Roulez calmement!

 

Atterrissage

Chemin de halage

Entre la Meuse et la voie à 4 bandes, à droite du décollage (terrain en vert sur le plan). Atterro très petit avec risque de TURBULENCES IMPORTANTES. La visite de l’atterrissage est IMPERATIVE avant de voler sur ce site. L’approche se fait au-dessus de la Meuse, mais attention aux vents descendants. De même, faire attention au vent tournant à l’atterro.

Altitude: 85 m

Finesse: 4

Acces et parking: Le long de la route à 4 bandes au pied du site (voir plan). Ne garez pas vos voitures le long de la route du côté de l’atterro, ni sur le chemin de halage, le chemin qui y mène ou chez les voisins. Il y a un parking de l’autre côté de la grande route.

Camping

La grande prairie en face du décollage, entre le camping et la grande route. Interdiction de survoler le camping à basse altitude. Faites attention aux poteaux d’éclairage le long de la route.

Parapentes: par vent forcissant la traversée vers ce terrain peut s’avérer impossible, dirigez-vous vers l’atterro " chemin de halage ".

Altitude: 85 m

Finesse: 6

Acces et parking: à Godinne, traverser le pont, prendre le viaduc à droite et sur le viaduc encore à droite.

Dangers

ATTERRISSAGE « camping » (deltas (et parapentes):
Le long de la route dans le village il y a un fil électrique visible de loin, mais 1m50 au-dessus de celui-ci se trouve une ligne à semi-tension mortelle qui est pratiquement invisible.

DELTA : Attention pour les simples surfaces. Le terrain d’atterrissage est assez éloigné du décollage, surtout avec un vent du sud soutenu. Dans ce cas, il faut d’abord prendre de la hauteur avant de se diriger vers l’atterrissage. Si aux premiers passages devant le relief, vous ne prenez pas de la hauteur, dirigez-vous immédiatement vers l’atterrissage.

PARAPENTE: Site turbulent par tendance ouest. Faites attention au renforcement du vent: ne vous laissez pas dériver derrière le relief (rouleaux et pas d’atterrissage de secours). ATTERRISSAGE DELICAT EN BORD DE MEUSE! (voir atterrissages).

ATTENTION: En cas de crues de la Meuse, il est fortement déconseillé d'utiliser le terrain d'atterrissage du halage.  Le courant et le débit du cours d'eau dans ces conditions représentent un danger mortel.